Kernan Bust Unveiling

Kernan bust brings back fond memories

Donate To Fund the Joe Kernan Bust

The late Governor Joseph Kernan will be commemorated with a bust in the Indiana Statehouse.  If you would like to make a donation to fund this honor, please click here.  Thank you.

.Donate to Joe Kernan Bust


Governor Joseph Kernan Biography

Governor Joseph KernanHere are some highlights of Governor Kernan’s distinguished life.  Joe was a graduate of St. Joseph's High School in South Bend. In 1968 he earned a degree in Government from the University of Notre Dame, where he was a catcher on the baseball team.  Joe was a veteran of the U.S. Navy, serving as a Naval Flight Officer aboard the U.S.S. Kitty Hawk. In May of 1972, he was shot down by the enemy while on a reconnaissance mission over North Vietnam. After being held as a prisoner of war for nearly 11 months, Joe was repatriated in 1973. For his service, Joe received numerous awards, including the Navy Commendation Medal, two Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Flying Cross. 

Joe served as South Bend's city controller from 1980 to 1984.  Joe Kernan was elected mayor of South Bend in 1987, 1991 and again in 1995, when he won with more than 82% of the vote. At the time, he was the longest-serving mayor in the city's history.  In 1996, Frank O'Bannon and Joe Kernan were elected to the top two positions in the Indiana government. The O'Bannon-Kernan team was elected for a second term in 2000.  Upon the death of Gov. Frank O'Bannon in September 2003, Joe assumed the position of governor of Indiana. He made history immediately by appointing Kathy Davis as Indiana's first woman lieutenant governor. Additional information can be found at

Thank you to the following donors who contributed to the Joe Kernan Bust:

  • Bryan and Shane Apolskis
  • Martin and Carol Armbruster
  • Kevin Barry, Div. #3 A.O.H.
  • Pat and Jennifer Barth
  • Chris Bayh
  • Russell Brown
  • Michael Browning
  • Emily Bryant
  • Erika Cheney
  • Barbara Christin
  • Richard Cockrum
  • Kevin Corcoran
  • Annette E. Craycraft
  • CSO                                                                         
  • Kathy Davis
  • Louis and Susan Dezelan
  • Mary Downes
  • Steven Eichholtz
  • Direct Evergreen
  • Philip Faccenda
  • Sean Fahey
  • Jay Ferguson
  • Kerry Forestal
  • Peter Forsee
  • Frederick H. Garver
  • John Goss
  • John Gregg                                                             
  • Gregory Hahn
  • Heather Harris
  • Tim Henderson
  • Alan Hogan
  • Indiana State Building and Construction Trades   
  • Tim Jeffers
  • Melinda Jones
  • Gregg Keesling
  • Kasey Kendrick
  • Kevin Kernan
  • Michael and Maryellen Knight
  • Jon Laramore
  • Jim Lauck
  • Barbara Lawrence
  • David Lewis
  • Larry Logsdon
  • Lumina
  • John Lux
  • Paul Mannweiler
  • Tim McGinley (HMI Inc.)
  • Patty McKinnon
  • Amy Miller
  • Bill and Ann Moreau
  • Kevin Murray
  • Kristina Noel
  • Richard Nussbaum
  • Judith O'Bannon
  • O'Bannon Foundation
  • Michael O'Connor
  • Peadar O'Scanaill
  • Robert Ohlemiller
  • Brad Queisser
  • Cheryl Reed
  • Raymond Stanley
  • Kevin Strunk
  • Jonathon Swain
  • Robert Vane
  • Bob and Sue Welch
  • Thomas Wheeler
  • John Zody

Donate to Joe Kernan Bust

Become A Sponsor

Support the IAC and the events we host for our community.

Become A Sponsor